Much to tell- just no time.

River_Rice fields.

The lower Mo Chu meanders amongst rice fields of the Punakha Valley, Bhutan

I’m sitting in a hotel room in Thimphu, the capital city of Bhutan.  I’ve been in country for about 5 weeks now and have almost three more to go before returning home in early December.  My stay here started with four days of kayaking on the Paro, Thimphu, Mo and Po rivers.  For our first trip we teamed up with our friends at ECHO to offer a nearly two week combined kayaking, rafting and cultural tour that saw us traveling to the Bumthang region in the middle of the country.

A young monk at the temple of the devine madman in the Punkha Valley, Bhutan.

We saw festivals, rivers, Dzongs, temples and great scenery along the way.  Right after that I met our next group for a class III-IV+ paddling trip.  In addition to some great paddling we stumbled upon a black hat dance being performed in one of the temple rooms of the Trongsa dzong, the black neck crane festival in the Phobjika valley and a chance to use a rototiller to run shuttle ( I’ll explain later).

Buddha_prayer flags

Buddha and prayer flags.

One thing about being in Bhutan is that you rarely sit still so blogging has been a big priority, nor  much of a possibility. At best I can post a few shots and just say that when I have more time I’ll write more.

Tomorrow I’m off to begin a trip to the far eastern side of the country on the little paddled Drangme Chu.

This place is amazing!!!!

Tashi Delek, Phil

Photos and content ©DeRiemer Adventure Kayaking all rights reserved.

